Sharks hold season ending banquet


Alison Spidle (L) and her brother, Zachary, look over the trophies at last night's Sunnyside swim team banquet.

The Sunnyside swim team held its season ending banquet Thursday night at Central Park.

The Sharks finished second at the Mid-Valley League swim championships this season under head coach Angie Poff.

Several awards were handed out at Thursday night's banquet.

The first of the awards was high point awards. This award recognizes swimmers who have obtained the most points in each age group for the season.

Brittany Broersma took high point honors in the girls 8 & under division. Tad Tyhuis won the honor for the boys.

Toni Castillo picked high points honors in the girls 10 & under division while Cristian Vargas earned the honor for the boys.

High points honors in the girls 12 & under division went to Kathleen Dolan. Jacob Hollander garnered the high points award for the boys.

In the girls 16 & under division, Rachelle Durfey received high points honors. David Knee earned the honor for the boys.

Emily Kresse was the recipient of the high points award in the 18 & under girls division. Kaleb Hursh picked up the honor on the boys side.

Several swimmers were also recognized with most improved honors during Thursday night's banquet. Swimmers in this category were judged on the improvement of their times from the beginning of the season to the end.

In the 8 & under division, Madi Marquez received most improved girl honors while Gabriel Saenz was the most improved for the boys.

Hannah Hollander earned most improved girl swimmer in the 10 & under division. Giovanni Rodriguez was the most improved swimmer for the boys.

In the 12 & under girls, Jackie Rodriguez was named the most improved swimmer. Brad Luff was the most improved boys swimmer in the division.

Teagan Van Gundy was named the most improved girls 14 & under swimmer. A.J. Salazar picked up the honor on the boys side.

Crystal Moore was named the most improved girls 16 & under swimmer. The honor on the boys side went to Zile Wagner.

Anna Henry was named the most improved 18 & under girls swimmer. Kasey Hursh was the most improved boy swimmer.

Seven swimmers received the Shark for Life honor from Poff last night. The award is given to swimmers who have graduated from school are won't be able to participate next year because of age requirements.

Laura Matson had the longest tenure on the swim team of any swimmer receiving the Shark for Life award. Matson had been a Sunnyside Shark for 15 years. Three other swimmers, Nicole Garza, Rebecca Razey and Dane Smith, had all been on the team for 11 years. Anna Henry was also a recipient, having been part of the Sharks for six years. Other award recipients include Emily Kresse, five years, and Kaleb Hursh, two years.

Kaitlyn Broersma, Rebecca Razey and Kaleb Hursh were named this year's most inspirational swimmers. This honor is given by the Sunnyside swim team to individuals who show a positive attitude and are motivational leaders on the team.

The coaches award this year went to Emily Hutchins, Megan Razey, Ethan Partch and Omar Vergara. This award was chosen by the Sharks' coaching staff to swimmers who showcased good behavior.

The coaches also handed out plaques recognizing the dedication of certain swimmers to the summer program.

A total of 15 Sharks earned dedication plaques for five years of participating on the Sunnyside team. Receiving the plaques were Darick Anderson, Erica Anderson, Toni Castillo, Sherran Garcia, Kasi Guillen, Emily Kresse, Alissa Martin, Crystal Moore, Bailey Morris, Jordain Saenz, Samantha Siller, Beth Stiteler, Tim Stiteler, Kristen Wedam and Katelyn Wutzke.

Receiving seven-year medallions for summer participation were Kathleen Dolan, Tony Garza, Hannah Glockner, Janelle Mendoza, Kyle Tyler and Megan Tyler.

Cami Funk was recognized with a medallion for being part of the Sharks team for nine years.

Earning medallions for 11 years on the team were Chelsea Durfey, Rachelle Durfey, Nicole Garza and Rebecca Razey.

Laura Matson received a 15-year medallion.

Those swimmers who received sportsmanship medallions at each of the meets this year were Giovanni Rodriguez, Beth Stiteler, Stephanie Garza, Emily Hutchins, Katie Knee, Kaleb Hursh, Janelle Mendoza, Megan Schlenker, Megan Razey, Sarah Kilian, Tad Tyhuis and Ethan Partch.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment