Clarks, Diener, Velez Frost Bite champions

Mike and Dan Clark teamed with Tom Diener and Pete Velez to win the 2004 Frost Bite Scramble at Sunnyside's Black Rock Creek Golf Course this past Sunday.

The season opening tourney at Black Rock drew a field of 23 teams. Play of the day was a four-man scramble.

The two Clarks, Diener and Velez scrambled to post a tourney best 14-under 58.

Finishing second in the low gross scoring column behind the Clarks, Diener and Velez was the foursome of Ty Schatz, Bob Hall, Eddie Joe Risk and Bud Schatz. The runners-up were three strokes off the winning pace with a 61.

There was a three-way tie for third place honors in the low gross division. Firing identical 62's were the teams of Travis Davis, Phil Luther, Ron Harle and Keith Sattler; Larry Kleingardner, Soo Hawn Kim, Gerry Santo and Len Walker; and Simon Masias, Dan Masias, Mike Garcia and Felix Cordova.

Claiming low net honors, with handicaps figured in, was the foursome of Mike Richey, Juan Guerrero, Marc Richey and Balbino Benitez.

Flag prize winners in the tourney included Soo Hawn Kim for the longest putt on No. 1, Bud Schatz for KP honors on No. 3, Ty Schatz for KP honors on No. 6, Hank Stamschror for KP honors on No. 9, Dion Warren for KP honors on No. 12, Mike Clark for longest drive on No. 13, Kevin Leiseth for closest chip on No. 16 and Len Walker for KP honors on No. 17.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment