Grizzly athletes honored


Sunnyside High School Athletic Director Bill Daley (R) hands Sunnyside swimmer Megan Razey the most inspirational swimmer award during last week's fall sports ceremony.

Last week, Sunnyside High School honored some of its best and brightest student athletes of the fall sports season.

Student athletes were honored during the annual fall sports awards ceremony last Tuesday for their accomplishments in the sports arena and the classroom.

The academic awards were presented by Sunnyside Athletic Club members Karen Cullen and Rick Van de Graaf.

Megan Razey was honored for her academic accomplishments in swimming.

Rally squad member Viridiana Pasillas was honored for her efforts in the classroom.

Receiving academic honors in football were Tony Cantu (varsity), Carlos Orozco (junior varsity), and Riley Moore (freshman).

Academic honors in volleyball went to Amy Amaro (varsity), Claire Schilperoort (junior varsity) and Aly Waddle (C-squad).

Leslie Jones earned academic honors in girls varsity soccer. Erica Garcia was recognized for her classroom efforts from the junior varsity squad.

In cross country, brothers Brenden and Sterling Scott received top academic honors. On the girls team, Veronica Almeida had the top classroom marks.

The girls swimming team, under the guidance of Coach Scott Southard, earned top academic honors from the Washington Interscholastic Activities Association (WIAA). The girls swim team maintained a 3.5 or higher cumulative grade point average during the fall sports season.

The WIAA also recognized the academic accomplishments of the SHS rally squad, volleyball and girls soccer teams for maintaining a cumulative grade point average between 3.0 and 3.49.

The coaches' awards were also given out last week.

Cross country coach Robin Bryson presented six awards in all to members of this year's team. Brenden Scott was named most valuable runner. The coaches award went to Sterling Scott. Cipriano Meraz was named the most improved runner on the boys side. The coaches award for the girls team went to Christina Fuller. Mercedes Martinez was named the most valuable runner and Andrea Benitez was named most improved runner.

Sunnyside girls soccer coach Kathy Jolliff presented Araceli Morales with the most valuable offensive player award. Yanet Candido received defensive MVP honors. The coaches award went to Teresa Juarez. Leslie Jones was named the most improved player this year on the Lady Grizzly squad and Cassie Jolliff received most inspirational honors.

Rally squad coach Suzi Carpino gave the most valuable team member award to Maggie Ramirez. Crystal Carpino won the team captain award. The coaches award went to Victoria Sarmiento. Jill Stroh was the recipient of the spirit award and Viridiana Pasillas earned the inspirational award.

Chelsea Durfey was a double-winner on the girls swim team, receiving most valuable player and team captain honors. Razey was named most inspirational swimmer and Amanda Myers received the coaches award.

Lady Grizzly volleyball coach Angel Carrizales presented the most valuable player award to Kacee Jo Bootsma. Rebecca Van Pelt received team captain honors. Talia Spini and Amy Amaro were named most improved players. The heart and hustle award went to Christy Linde.

Sunnyside football coach Mark Marro awarded Greg Gilleland with most valuable player honors on the offensive squad. Defensive MVP honors went to Noe Zammaron. Chris Guevara was named team captain. Daniel Escobar was named the most improved player and Joe Schwartz was named most inspirational player.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment