Election filing period July 25-29

Decisions about running for city council or school board governing positions are now being made, but potential candidates will have until July 29 to register for election.

The official filing period for Yakima County is July 25-29, from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each of the five days at the Yakima County Courthouse.

According to a Yakima County elections officer, candidates for city councils and school board directorships may pick up election applications as of July 11, at the Yakima courthouse.

In Sunnyside, five city council seats are up for election. Positions 1 through 5 now held by three incumbents and two recently appointed councilmen are all open.

Incumbents Mike Farmer, Bruce Ricks and Bengie Aguilar are completing their four-year terms while recently appointed Councilmen Paul Garcia and Theresa Hancock will face their first election if they choose to keep their seats. Hancock, who most recently replaced two-term Councilman Don Vlieger, would be seeking a full four-year term. The seat held by Garcia will come up for election again in two years.

In Grandview, five positions on the city council are up for election, including that of Mayor Norm Childress, who may seek election to complete the remainder of a four-year term. Councilmen Joan Souders, Richard McLean and Pam Horner are completing four- year terms and may seek re-election, while Javier Rodriguez may seek election to complete a four-year term.

In Mabton, Mayor David Conradt's seat is up for election, as are positions held by Councilmen Virginia Molina, Ernesto Armendariz and Velva Herrera. All Mabton council seats carry four-year terms.

In the school board races, five director positions on the Sunnyside School Board will be up for election in 2005.

Seeking their first election as board members, if they opt to run, will be recently appointed board members Larry Pangle and Steve Carpenter. Both seats will be open again two years from now.

Long-time Sunnyside School Board member and current board chairman Joanne Kilian and incumbent director Lorenzo Garza Jr. are completing four-year terms.

Bill Smith, director of district #5, recently announced he doesn't plan to run again, leaving his position open for someone to fill out the remaining two years of his term.

Grandview School Board has three seats open for election, with incumbents Ron Fox and Kirk Michels nearing the end of their four-year terms. The seat held by Alfonso Contreras will be open again in two years.

In Mabton, positions held by School Board members Cynthia "Peggy" Zeebuyth and Viviana Trejo are both up for grabs this fall.

Candidates for city council or school board must have a minimum of one year of residency in the community they wish to serve.

Sunnyside Port District Commissioner Position #2, currently held by Jeff Matson, will also be open this year. Matson is completing a six-year term. Grandview Port Commissioners Colleen Byam and Richard Shenyer also face re-election if they choose to keep their positions. Byam is completing a six-year term and Shenyer is completing a four-year term.

A primary election will be held in September with the general election slated for November.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment