Local students earn top grades at YVCC


Four oars like these were stolen from the Sunnyside Skippers last Saturday. Owner Dorothy Waters is offering a $100 reward to get them back.

Yakima Valley Community College has released the names of students who made the President's or Dean's lists for the spring quarter of 2009.

To receive a President's List designation a student must earn a quarterly grade point average of 3.85 or higher and have a course load of a minimum of 12 credits.

Making the grade from Sunnyside were Terrie D. Belt, Lorena Frausto, Will P. Furan, Donna Isabel Gutierrez, Jose V. Lopez, Rhonda K. Lyons, Ronald J. Osborn, Oscar I. Santana, Nicholas Steckler and Benjamin S. Tucker.

Grandview was also represented by several YVCC students that made the list. They were Josh A. Beck, Blanca A. Granados, Daniel S. Martinez, Gloribel J. Mondragon, Jessika N. Perez and Albert F. Waterman.

Mabton's Alma D. Garcia and Christine Medrano made the list, as well as Prosser's Gayle L. Hansen and Andrew Pine.

To earn a spot on the Dean's List a student must earn a quarterly grade point average of 3.4 to 3.84 and be enrolled in at least 12 credits.

Making the Dean's List from Sunnyside were Michelle Cisneros, Carly L. Dahlstrom, Maria Elisa Elizondo, Jaime Esqueda, Carina O. Farias, Rachel Fernandez, Marecela Flores, Lionel Garcia, Isla A. Garza, Nicole Garza, Diedree M. Hall, Jacob T. Hernandez, Miguel A. Juarez, Noreen L. Lutton, Lionel Martinez-Munoz, Taylor C. Mortensen, Juan C. Orozco, Marra-Lynn Rodriguez, Rachel C. Romero, Nicole K. Southern, Roberto M. Vidales, Carolina F. Warwick, Jenna M. Zamarron and Janice V. Hale.

Students from Grandview on the Dean's List included Javier Alvarez, Stephen Caballero, Daniela Conde, Erica Delgado, Estela Gomez, Joshua L. Gray, Alberto T. Medel, Michael C. Pena, Ramon Perez, Teresa M. Schultz, Crystal L. Spradlin and Robert A. Whitenack.

Making the grade from Granger were Amanda L. Glover, Ben M. Jochen, Melissa A. Jochen and Jacob R. Sevigny.

Mabton's Derek J. Newhouse and Tia Salinas made the Dean's List, as well.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment