SHS ceremony honors spring athletes


Tennis Coach Macario Solis hands the coaches award to Jessie Robert.

Sunnyside High School staff, coaches, parents and students converged at the auditorium last night, Tuesday, to honor spring sports athletes.

"If not for the support of parents, coaches, teachers, support staff, and the many community supporters who volunteer their time and resources, the lifetime skills acquired through competing in interscholastic activities would not be possible," SHS Athletic Director Bill Daley wrote in the program provided for last night's attendees.

In fastpitch softball, captained by Kassie Luther, Leslie Schilperoort was named most improved player. Sarasa Partida was named MVP and Ruby Herrera received best bat honors. Melissa Amaro was granted the Golden Glove.

In golf, Nathan Espinoza was named most improved, while Renae Visser was named MVP.

In girls track, Tiffany Spencer was named most inspirational. Maria Broersma received the coaches award and Megan Tyler was named outstanding performer.

In boys track, Damian Ramos was named most inspirational and Elias Medrano was named most improved. Jose Madrigal received the coaches award and Kennedy Sarmiento was named MVP.

In baseball, captained by Jasper Rubalcava, Tristan Abbott was named MVP and Chance Graff named most improved. Israel Rivas was honored as being most improved and Jaime Sarmiento won the coaches award.

In tennis, Randy DeRuyter was named most inspirational and Regina Mendez was named MVP. Jessie Leija was named most improved and Jessie Robert was received the coaches award.

In soccer, Fernando Torres was named most improved and Joaquin Perez was named most inspirational. Nick Steckler took home the coaches award and Brian Galvan was named MVP. The team was captained by Jordan Esqueda.

Columbia Basin Big 9 All-Conference Award winners were also announced last night.

In soccer, Galvan was named first team forward, Jesus Solis was named second team midfield and Esqueda was named second team defender. Humberto Bermudez and Steckler were honorable mentions.

In fastpitch, Partida received an honorable mention.

In track, the 4x100 team of Broersma, Tayna Lugo, Ayla Schmick and Katie Herndon received honorable mentions. Herndon also got an honorable mention in the pole vault.

Sarah Kilian received an honorable mention in the shot put, Sarmiento made second team hurdles and Francisco Navarro got an honorable mention in the triple jump.

Herndon and Jacob Rogers were recognized for their track and field efforts by the National Electrical Contractors Association and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers for demonstrating balance in academics and athletics.

Those recognized for academic excellence while participating in sports include Martin Saldana, Freddie Roman, Andrew Daley, Jorge Arciga, Melina Gonzalez, Schmick, Herndon, Abigail Gomez, Emily Hutchins, Tyler, Christine Kim, Emily Meyer, Jessie Robert, Jill Spini, David Salmeron, Kyle Scott, Alfredo Gomez, Omar Vergara, Edgar Hernandez, Guillermo Correa, Uriel Osuna, Ruben Logo and Larisa Sagarnaga.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment