Candidate filing period kicks off Monday, June 1

A spate of offices are up for election this year in all of the Lower Valley cities, as well as for statewide offices.

The first day to file for office is this coming Monday, June 1.

In Sunnyside there are four city council seats up for election, representing the city's four electoral districts. Candidates must be from the district they wish to represent on council.

If there are three or more candidates from a particular district, then voters residing in that district will decide which two advance during the Aug. 18 primary.

The general election is set for Nov. 3, at which time all Sunnyside residents will vote for the candidates, regardless of what district they live in.

Those currently holding the Sunnyside City Council district positions one through four are, in order, Theresa Hancock, Jesse Hernandez Jr., Carol Stone and Bill Gant.

The Grandview City Council also has four seats open during this election cycle. The seats, with incumbent in parentheses, are; position 1 (Joan Souders), position 2 (Jan McDonald), position 3 (Pam Horner) and position 6 (Diana Jennings).

In Mabton, the office of mayor (Velva Herrera), as well as council positions one through three (Oping Hutson, Shelley Luther-Mireles and Angel Reyna) will be on the ballot.

The Sunnyside School Board has two seats up for election this year; district 2 (Joanne Kilian) and district 3 (Lorenzo Garza Jr.).

Seats up for grabs on the Mabton School Board are district 3 (Elsa Sanchez) and position 1 at large (Jeannette Williams).

The Grandview School Board also has two seats open during this year's election cycle; district 2 (Zulma Reyes) and district 6 (Paul Jepson).

Rounding out the seats available for candidates seeking office is the position 2 commissioner for Fire District #5 (Todd Lunning), as well as Port of Sunnyside, district 3 (St. Clair Woodworth) and Port of Grandview, district 2 (Jim Sewell).

There is one regional office up for grabs, as the 15th legislative district's position 2 house seat will be on the ballot. The seat is currently being held by Republican David Taylor, appointed to the post when Dan Newhouse was appointed to head the state's department of agriculture.

Candidates may file for office next week, from Monday, June 1, through Friday, June 5.

Candidates can file at the Yakima County auditor's office in the county courthouse from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

An increasingly popular way to submit a Declaration of Candidacy for office is online at Filings will be accepted after 9 a.m. on Monday, June 1, until 4 p.m. on Friday, June 5. The secure filings may be submitted at any hour of the day or night this way.

Of the 332 candidates who filed with the Office of Secretary of State last year, 180 candidates filed electronically, or about 54 percent.

Candidates are free to publicize party endorsements, their incumbency or other descriptions in their campaigns and in voters pamphlet statements, but the actual ballot will be free of this material.

Candidates should also note that filing fees for offices with annual salaries of $1,000 or more are 1 percent. For instance, it costs $421.06 to run for the legislature.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment