Candidate filing period for public offices now open by mail

The 2011 election is gearing up and those wishing to get a head start on the process can now file by mail.

The filing period for those who wish to run for elective office is June 6-10 at the Yakima County Auditor's Office. But those wishing to get a head start can mail in their Declaration of Candidacy now. All declarations must be received by 3:30 p.m. on June 10. Prospective candidates can also email or fax in their Declaration of Candidacy, contingent upon the filing officer receiving the original signed Declaration within seven calendar days.

All Declarations received after June 10 will not be valid regardless of the postmark.

Several municipal seats are up for election this fall.

The Sunnyside City Council has three positions open. Those seats are held by Paul Garcia (position 5), James A. Restucci (position 6) and Thomas Gehlen (position 7).

Restucci said he is undecided at the moment whether to seek re-election. Gehlen, too, will wait before he makes any decision. Garcia was unavailable for comment.

The Grandview City Council has four positions open, as well as the mayor's seat.

Mayor Norm Childress has confirmed he will run again in the fall.

Council positions open this year in Grandview include those held by Mike Bren (position 4), Bill Moore (position 5), Diana R. Jennings (position 6) and Jesse S. Palacios (position 7).

Moore and Palacios have said they will run for re-election. Both Jennings and Bren didn't return phone calls from the Daily Sun News.

Mabton City Council members Vera C. Zavala (position 5) and Mario Martinez (position 4) are up for re-election this year. Zavala and Martinez have both confirmed they will run again.

Area school districts also have positions coming up for election in November.

Sunnyside School Board members Rocky Simmons (district 1), Stephen B. Carpenter (district 4) and Miguel Puente (district 5) are all up for re-election.

Carpenter announced at the April school board meeting that he will not be seeking re-election in the fall. Simmons has said he will give it another go for a term on the school board. Puente was unable to be reached for comment.

In Grandview, school board members Lydia B. Moreno (district 1), Alfonso Contreras (district 3) and Timothy E. Grow (district 4), will be facing re-election.

Grow and Contreras told the Daily Sun News they will run again. Moreno is undecided at this point.

In Mabton, school board members Guadalupe Maldonado Jr. (district 1), Blanche K. Tobin (district 2) and David Rodriguez (district 2 at-large) are all up for re-election. Both Maldonado Jr. and Rodriguez have announced they will run for re-election. Tobin will not seek another term.

One position each from the Port of Sunnyside and the Port of Grandview are up for re-election this fall.

Sunnyside Port Commissioner Jeffrey E. Matson (district 2) will run again this fall and Grandview Port Commissioner Colleen Byam (district1) has also committed to running.

The last local position up for election this fall is Fire Protection District No. 5 Commissioner position 1, currently held by Jim S. Morford. He was unable to be reached after several attempts by the Daily Sun News.

The primaries will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 16, with the general election being held on Tuesday, Nov. 8.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment