Area students make the grade at YVCC

Yakima Valley Community College announced last week students who received honor-roll status on the president's or dean's lists during the fall 2011 quarter.

Each quarter the college recognizes outstanding academic achievement by recognizing students according to the criteria met. A student listed with president's honors has earned a quarterly grade-point average of at least 3.85 with a minimum of 12 credits.

Area students earning president's honors include Bickleton's James R. Cummings and Grandview residents Diego Arroyo, Yezenia Z. Chairez, Adriana Cruz, Janessa L. Hoffard, Maria Esther Mendoza and Corina C. Villarreal. Students from Sunnyside who made the list include Alicia M. Caballero, Cindy Cazares, Yeraldi Espino, Rebekah Fernandez, Virginia Frausto, Renae J. Haringa, Ryan M. Leija, Ailene M. Muhlhauser and Celia Torres. Prosser residents on the president's list are Linda L. Basgall, Mark F. Bass, Mark P. Belmares, Miles Bender, Armando Diaz, Esperanza Beren Guizar, Andrew W. Hamilton, Catherine H. Heard, Mariela Macias and Kayla J. Saenz.

Yakima Valley Community College students who qualified for dean's list honors must have earned a 3.4 to 3.84 GPA with a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Local students named on the dean's list include Granger residents Nancy Almaguer, Annalee G. Davis, Maira Gutierrez, Alaundra M. Ibarra, Jaime Martinez, Maricela Martinez, Sophia Y. Ochoa, Elizabeth Ramirez, Sylvia Romero and Aidee P. Vasquez, and Mabton students Charles M. Lopez and Stephanie M. Sanchez.

In addition, Grandview area students who made the dean's list include Abigail Alvarez, Brandon R. Armstrong, Tolan H. Barrett. Kristi L. Cantu, Maria L. Castillo, Nathan J. Champion, Wendy Conklin, Ruth Correa, Mariela Delgadillo, Serapio Garcia Jr., Isla A. Garza, Noe Gonzalez, Noelia Gonzalez, Rudy M. Jimenez, Christina J. Mendoza, Amanda E. Montelongo, Beatriz Ocampo, Gricelda Pedroza, Celia H. Reyna, Miriam Robles and Jacob A. Scott.

Outlook area students Michelle L. Galvan and Alex Zesati also made the dean's list along with Prosser residents Manuel Armenta, Taylor M. Flores, Janel Hernandez, Jamie L. Hopwood, Hannah N. Jaime, Jalisa M. Landa, Virgenia E. Martin, Priscilla I. Nooner, Melody E. Richman and Elsa M. Solis.

Sunnyside students who made the 2011 fall quarter dean's list at YVCC are Baltazar Avalos Jr., Dusty D. Berg, Nicholas J. Caballero, Luisa E. Calderon, Juana L. Garibay, Andrea M. Gatica, Angelica G. Hernandez , Jennifer Hunsaker, Flor M. Licona, Amanda R. Lively, Armando Madrigal, Rosa M. Magana, Ileana Martinez, Regina E. Mendez, Laura B. Mendoza, Felicia L. Mercado, Carina M. Ocampo, Lorena Ornelas, Maricela Ramirez, Rachel S. Romero, Jasper L. Rubalcava, Sylvia O. Salinas, Cristal Sandoval, Kelsea R. Stamschror, Alberto Trevino and Evelia M. Valencia.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment