SHS spring athletes recognized at awards ceremony

Sunnyside High School hosted its spring athletic awards ceremony last night, recognizing students who participated in spring sports for the 2012 campaign.

Athletes from seven teams were recognized by coaches, teammates, parents and friends.

Softball Coach Ralph Mendoza announced the names of athletes from his team to be recognized. They included inspirational player Hannah Fernandez, most improved player Lindsey Covel, most valuable player and best batter Amber Cornwell, and golden glove award recipient Shawna Santini.

Baseball Coach Terry Shines recognized Julian Rivera as the best hitter and most valuable player for the Grizzlies, Tim Martinez was named most improved player, the most inspirational player was Israel Rivas and the coaches award was presented to Damon Hurst.

Golfers recognized by Coach Gary Rohde included most improved player Elias Romero, most valuable golfer Chan Luther and most improved on the links was Alyson Spidle.

Tennis Coach David Downing named Javier Aguilar as the most inspirational netter, Scott Laverman as most valuable player, Elexis Lepe received the most inspirational player award for the girls team, as well as the most valuable player award.

Soccer players recognized by Coach David Guevara and his staff included most improved player Enrique De La Cruz, most valuable defensive player Bradly Lopez, most valuable player on offense Oswaldo Lopez, coaches award recipient Ricardo Leal and captain award recipient Cristian Vargas.

Darren Mezger, coach for Sunnyside High School's track team, recognized Marisa Broersma and Eduardo Salmeron as most valuable athletes. Named most improved on the track and field were Alondra Quezadas and Alvin Lopez. Vanessa Alvarez and Elijah Pena were recipients of the coaches award. Outstanding performers included Eric Amaro and Brittney Broersma.

Mezger also recognized four athletes for earning the opportunity to participate at the 3A WIAA State track and field competition. They included Amaro, Salmeron, Pena and Miguel Guzman.

Seven track and field competitors were also named all-league selections. They include Salmeron, first team triple jump and honorable mention honors in the long jump; Pena, second team 110M hurdles and honorable mention honors for the 300M hurdles; Reyes Cuevas, honorable mention honors in the 400M dash; Guzman, honorable mention honors for the javelin; Brittney Broersma, honorable mention for the 300M hurdles; and 4x100 relay honorable mention honors went to Brittney and Marissa Broersma, Vanessa Alvarez, Alondra Quezadas and Leah Diddens.

Athletes from Sunnyside High School who were named all-league players in the Columbia Basin Big Nine include soccer players Armando Armenta, second team midfield; Ricardo Leal, second team defender; Bradly Lopez, second team defender; Cristian Vargas, honorable mention goalkeeper; and Enrique De La Cruz, honorable mention midfielder.

WIAA team academic awards were presented to the the following Sunnyside High School spring athletic teams: girls varsity tennis for an overall grade point average of 3.55, girls JV tennis for the team's grade point average of 3.17, girls varsity fastpitch for a team grade point average of 3.22, the JV fastpitch team had a grade point average of 3.08, the varsity golf team had a combined grade point average of 3.37, the girls varsity track team earned a combined grade point average of 3.35 and the boys varsity track team combined for a grade point average of 3.02.

Recognized for academic excellence by the National Electrical Contractors Association and International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers for demonstrating balance in academics and athletics were Eduardo Salmeron and Hannah Fernandez.

Academic excellence awards were also presented to Brandon Daley, Eduardo Salmeron, Eric Amaro, Sergio Lugo, Audiel Sanchez, Miguel Guzman, Leonel Alvarado, Nicholas Douglas, Jacob Galindo, Eric Guizar, Zachary Salinas, Vanessa Alvarez, Kendall Platsman, Geordan Skyles, Claudia Rivera, Rosario Rodriguez, Katelyn Hazzard, Gardenia Contreras, Charley Rollinger, Selena Rubalcava, Leah Diddens, Adilene Palencia, Virgina Casio, Adriana Chavez, Josie Marro, Briseida Soberanes, Xavier Hernandez, Javier Serna, Kassandra Ortega, Amanda Villarreal, Karina Gonzalez, Marthy Hernandez, Lydia Robert, Sonia Romero, Jasmine Lopez, Vanessa Lopez, Iran Brambila, Alexis Osuna, Trajen Frank, Zack Halma, Isaiah Lyczewski, Ricardo Leal, Marcelo Madera, Cristian Vargas, Jose Reyna, Jorge Villegas, Vanessa Cornwell, Erika Romero, Megan Casseday, Shawna Santini, Esmeralda Fernandez, Jocelyn Huerta, Lindsay Schilperoort, Ashley Davis and Alyson Spidle.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment