Vote tallies updated for local election races

It’s all over but the shouting in all but one Lower Valley contest from this month’s General Election.


It was a clean sweep for Grandview City Council incumbents. Joan Souders defeated challenger Martha Ramos for the city council’s Pos. 1 seat 533-to-234, Javier Rodriguez retained his Pos. 2 seat 475-to-244 over Laura Mendoza and Gloria Mendoza was elected unopposed for the Pos. 3 seat with 95.77 percent of the vote going her way.

In the Grandview School District, all three seats were unopposed, with Antonio Sanchez taking Dist. 1, Zulma Ochoa winning Dist. 2 and Paul Jepson prevailing in Dist. 5.


The one race still too-close-to-call in the Lower Valley is for the city of Mabton mayor’s post. Mario Martinez is ahead of write-in entries for the position by a margin of 61-to-57.

All three Mabton City Council incumbents easily retained their seats; Oping Hutson and Sophie Sotelo were unopposed for their Pos. 1 and Pos. 2 seats, respecitively, in garnering 97 percent of the votes, and Mark Gourneau easily defeated challenger Freddie Perales 86-to-33 in the Pos. 3 contest.

All of the candidates for the Mabton School Board’s four seats on the election ballot were unopposed. Elizabeth Cerrillo, James Adams and Elsa Sanchez retained their Dist. 1, 2 and 3 seats, respectively.

A new face on the Mabton School Board, Wendy Morrow, will serve the at-large Pos. 1 seat as she ran unopposed.

Sunnyside City Council

Theresa Hancock was re-elected to the Dist. 1 seat for Sunnyside City Council, 799-to-550 over Robert Perales.

Dean Broersma defeated challenger Sam Ramirez in the city council’s Dist. 2 contest 867-to-501.

Spencer Martin unseated incumbent Dist. 3 councilman Don Vlieger 828-to-547.

Francisco Guerrero retained his Dist. 4 seat 1,012-to-195 over Ardell McNearney.

Sunnyside School Board

The only Sunnyside School Board race that went uncontested was the Dist. 5 seat held by appointee Dylan Gardner. Gardner retained the post with 98 percent of the vote.

Dist. 2 incumbent Michelle Perry fended off a challenge from write-in candidate James Bridges, 1,983 to 138.

In a much tighter contest for the open Dist. 3 seat, Steve Winfree appears headed for victory by a count of 1,356 to 1,247 over Mary Rita Rohde.

Other seats

Gary Hess ran unopposed for the Bickleton School District Pos. 5 at-large. Also running solo and earning another term of office are Richard Shenyer and Ronald Grow for the Port of Grandview and Arnold Martin for the Port of Sunnyside.

David Charvet prevailed comfortably in the race for Fire Protection Dist. 5 commissioner, Pos. 2 with a 3,033 to 862 victory over Daryl Bullard.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment