Personnel changes OK’d

Thursday night, the Sunnyside School Board approved a number of personnel changes in the district.

For the 2014-15 school year, the district has hired Paulette Johnson as the district director of teaching, learning and assessment; Maria Medrano as an account specialist; Andrea Cardenas-Gibb as a first grade teacher at Washington Elementary; Hortensia Hernandez as a sixth grade special education teacher at Harrison Middle School; Gail Dodd as a sixth grade science teacher at Harrison Middle School; Stephanie Delp as a sixth grade middle level English teacher at Sierra Vista Middle School; Jonathan Knight as an elementary school counselor at Chief Kamiakin Elementary; Sara Huffman, Kirsten Phelps, Wendy Tullio, Joanne Hellberg and Alexandra Andren as kindergarten teachers at Sun Valley Elementary; Stacy Bort as a fourth grade teacher at Outlook Elementary; Melissa McCullough and Rachel Sullivan as fifth grade teachers at Outlook Elementary; Michelle Ross as an eighth grade math teacher at Harrison Middle School; Linda Hall as a seventh grade special education teacher at Harrison Middle School; Ashley Queener as an eighth grade English teacher at Harrison Middle School; Raul Castro as a math teacher at Sierra Vista Middle School; Hailey Wooldridge as a special education teacher at Sierra Vista Middle School; Ibelia Avalos and Andrew Ryan as English teachers at Sunnyside High School; Stephanie Torpey as the Grizzly Academy Director at Sunnyside High School; Carmela Galvan as the head secretary at Washington Elementary; Donna Gutierrez as a secretary at Sun Valley Elementary; Areli Perez, Sonia Jaquez, Oralia Vidaurri and Sandra Zamora as para educators at Sun Valley Elementary; Adolfo Muller as a special education para educator at Sunnyside High School; Daniel Berkompas as a day custodian at Sun Valley Elementary; and Theresa Dalton as a night custodian at Sierra Vista Middle School.

Julia Granados was approved as a summer school special education para educator.

Carla Rasmussen retired from the district. Resigning from the district are Kathryn Phelps, Jessica Schenck, Bethany Downard, Kyla Lamb, Gloria Pacheco, Oliva Kim, Kayla Monroe, Joshua Kramer and Lusia Magana. Taking a one-year leave of absence is Kacey Soto.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment