Sunnyside High School hosts winter sports awards ceremony

Sunnyside High School this past Monday night hosted its 2013-14 winter sports awards ceremony, recognizing athletes for their accomplishments this past season.

In boys wrestling, the coach’s award was presented to Jesse Torres; Jesse Barajas was recognized as most valuable wrestler and most inspirational wrestler; the most improved wrestler recognized Monday night was Jacob Mendoza; and Elias Romero was presented the outstanding JV wrestler award.

Barajas earned first team all-league honors in the 120-lb. weight class; Anthony Chavez earned first team all-league honors in the 132-lb. weight classification and first team honors also were earned by 182-pounder Daniel Avalos. At 113 lbs., Homer Romero earned second team all-league honors and honorable mention accolades went to Andres Gomez, who wrestled at 152 lbs.

Belen Torres earned the most inspirational and coach’s awards for girls wrestling. Teammate Jasmine Starke was the recipient of the most improved wrestler award, and the best wrestler award was presented to Kayla Gonzalez. Jessica Cardenas was named the most valuable wrestler.

For the dance team, Eric Guizar was presented the most improved award; Ebony Chavez was the recipient of the captain’s award; the most inspirational award was presented to Alondra Tiliano; Samantha Rodriguez earned the best dancer award; and the coach’s award was presented to Stefani Anciso.

The most improved bowler award was presented to Thalia Borja. Teammate Johanna Chumley was presented the high average award, and Brianna Esqueda was the recipient of the captain’s award.

All-league honors were also earned by several of the Lady Grizzly bowlers. Chumley earned first team honors, Esqueda earned second team honors, and Borja, Carla Rodriguez and Elisha Noyola earned honorable mentions.

Recognized from the SHS swim team were Alex Perez, recipient of the most valuable swimmer award; and Carlos Lopez was the recipient of the most improved swimmer award.

Girls basketball player Jasmine Lua was presented the most improved player award; Jordan Rodriguez was the recipient of the captain’s award; the defensive MVP selection was Vanessa Alvarez and teammate Emilee Maldonado earned the offensive MVP award. The most inspirational girls basketball player named Monday night was Tiana Perez.

Earning first team all-league honors were Rodriguez and Alvarez. Second team honors were earned by Maldonado, Natalia Bazan and Selena Rubalcava. Alvarez also earned all defensive team honors.

Recognized for the boys basketball team with the captain’s award was Joel Ortega. Angel Garza earned the coach’s award; Enrique Salmeron was named the most improved player; and the most inspirational player award was presented to Royce Voorhies.

Earning all-league second team recognition were boys basketball players Cody Fernandez and Leo Palacios.

Also recognized at Monday’s ceremony were members of the SHS rally squad. Cruzita Morfin earned the award for most inspirational rally squad member; Yazaret Villafana was presented the spirit award; the recipient of the most improved member of the squad was Katelyn Hazzard and the captain’s award was presented to Elizabeth Bobadilla.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment