Taylor drops bill to revamp electoral vote

HB1327 filed before Trump inauguration

— Two Eastern Washington lawmakers have introduced a bill to revamp the allocation process for the state’s electoral college votes.

On Monday, Reps. David Taylor, R-Moxee, and Matt Shea, R-Spokane Valley, filed House Bill 1327 to allocate the electoral college vote by congressional district. The bill comes days before the inauguration of president-elect Donald Trump.

Washington state has 12 electoral college votes — one for each of the state’s congressional districts and one each for two U.S. Senators.

In the Nov. 9 general election, Democrat Hillary Clinton won the statewide vote and, under the current winner-take-all electoral process, was supposed to receive all 12 electoral college votes.

However, Donald Trump won both of Eastern Washington’s congressional districts — the 4th District running along the east slope of the Cascades from the Canadian border to the Oregon border and the 5th District, which runs the same distance, but is nestled up against Idaho. He also won all of Southwest Washington, except Clark County, as well as the Olympic Peninsula, except Jefferson County.

As a democratic republic, voters elect electors, who then cast ballots for the president of the United States.

The bill, if approved, would go a long way toward restoring credibility to the state election process, where eastside and Olympic Peninsula voters say they are disenfranchised because a handful of populous liberal urban Puget Sound areas can carry the statewide vote, and effectively suppress conservative and libertarian votes.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment