Castaneda reconsiders, takes seat

Abandoned race, Mabton still chose her

— Diana Castaneda was the winner of the Mabton City Council position 1 election, even though she dropped out of the race because of family medical reasons before the election.

Her name couldn’t be taken off the ballot because she withdrew too late. She received the largest number of votes.

All that was needed, County Auditor Charles Ross said, was for Castaneda to take the oath of office. She did that Tuesday night at the city council meeting, Deputy City Clerk Josh Roberson said.

The final vote, according to the Yakima County Elections Office was Castaneda 61, Mark Gourneau 28 and Oping Hutson 28.

Hutson, who was nearing the end of her third term in the seat, died before the election. Gourneau ran a late-starting write-in campaign.

The most interesting result in the lower valley was in the mayor’s race at Wapato. Hector Garza won, 273-271 over Juan Orozco.

In other races that were contested in the lower valley, Laura Vazquez took the Mabton Mayor’s seat with 90 votes to 68 for out-going Mayor Mario Martinez.

Mabton City Council seat No. 2 went to Sophie Gutierrez Sotelo, 97-58, over Rachel Ruelas.

Mabton council seat No. 3 was won by Cindy Rendon with 78 votes over Duran Rivera with 62.

In the Grandview City Council No. 3 race, the voters chose Gloria Mendoza over Dina Ibarra, 385-206.

For council seat No. 1 in Sunnyside, John Henry was favored over Theresa Hancock, 545-301.

Sunnyside council seat No. 3 went to Ron Stremler by a 560-377 margin over Betty Lynn Garza.

The race for Wapato council No. 1 seat was won by Tony Guzman with 247 votes over Jasmine Perez with 185.

In the Wapato council No. 2 race, voters gave the seat to Dora Alvarez Rosas with 278 votes over Rita Alvarado with 226 votes.

Tony Gaytan won the Wapato council No. 5 seat with 279 votes over Stephen Diaz with 216 votes.

For the Wapato council No. 7 seat, Keith Workman outpolled Maria Lopez, 203-181.

The Zillah mayor’s seat went the Scott Carmack over Gary Clark, 385-170.

Toppenish School District position No. 1 was won by Enedeo Garza Jr. with 386 votes over Zach Dorr with 30.

Toppenish School District No. 3 seat went to Ricard Lommers over Rosa Ortiz, 611-411.

And the Port of Sunnyside board of commissioners position No. 2 seat went to Tyler Schilperoort with 1,259 votes over Jeffrey Matson with 667 votes.

Election turnout was quite low across the county at 27.3 percent. It was lower than 20 percent in several precincts.


Comments are subject to moderator review and may not appear immediately on the site.

Please read our commenting policy before posting.

Any comment violating the site's commenting guidelines will be removed and the user could be banned from the site.

Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment